About Us

Our Mission

We aim to provide an annual festival as a forum for young people to perform in their chosen art(s).  The competitions are a platform for young people to share their talents, gain experience and inspire others in public performance.

This annual event gives opportunity and experience to all entrants to perform in a prestigious venue, in front of experienced and recognised adjudicators from many parts of New Zealand who in turn share their knowledge and expertise with the participants.

Established in 1949, the New Plymouth (Performing Arts) Competitions Society is an Incorporated Society and a Registered Charity.


The New Plymouth Competitions Society committee comprises Rebecca Askin (President), Lynn Gilbert-Smith (Vice President) and Kay Grigg (Secretary, Treasurer). Committee members are Jan Aiello, Tracey Christiansen, Lisa Rangi,  Christine Grant, Lisa Kasperski, and Andrew Murray.

Life members are Mrs S Murphy, Mrs C Brown, Mrs S Wright, Mrs D Copeman and Mr J Copeman. The New Plymouth (Performing Arts) Competitions Society acknowledges our late life members, Mrs S Ward and Mrs D Harris.


The New Plymouth (Performing Arts) Competitions Society gratefully acknowledge the generous support of the TSB Community Trust, The Malvina Major Foundation Trust, Creative Communities NZ New Plymouth District and TSH Audio & Video. New Plymouth (Performing Arts) Competitions Society also recognises our sponsors for scholarships and special awards. 

© Copyright New Plymouth Competitions Society, PO Box 218, New Plymouth 4340